About Us

This website is managed and updated with content created by the Group of Regional Anaesthetists (GORA), Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle upon Tyne. 

We are all actively practicing regional anaesthetists, and we are all passionate about teaching and training in this subspecialty. To facilitate the dissemination of skills and knowledge and to raise the profile of regional anaesthesia in Newcastle, we have created this website. We hope it will grow to serve as a valuable resource for all interested anaesthetists, patients, and trainees rotating to the RVI to undertake a module of training in RA.

Some of the members of the group are shown below, although there are many other anaesthetists heavily involved in regional anaesthesia provision and training at the RVI.


Dr Mritunjay K Varma

NUSGRA founder

Dr Jonathan Womack

Consultant anaesthetist

Clinical lead for RA

DECT 29822

jonathan.womack@nhs.net

Dr Henrietta Dawson

Consultant anaesthetist

DECT 29727

henrietta.dawson@nhs.net

Dr Shahram Khan

Consultant Anaesthetist

DECT 29831

shahram.khan@nhs.net

Dr Sameer Ahmed

SASG Doctor

DECT 29687

sameer.ahmed@nhs.net

Dr Adnaan Qureshi

Consultant Anaesthetist

NUSGRA webmaster

DECT 29987

admin@nusgra.co.uk

Dr Ben Goodman

Consultant anaesthetist

DECT 21823

ben.goodman@nhs.net

Dr Lewis Gray

Consultant anaesthetist & intensivist

DECT 39798

lewis.gray@nhs.net

Dr David Buckley

Consultant anaesthetist

DECT 29821

david.buckley@nhs.net

Dr Chris Browell

Consultant anaesthetist

DECT 77292

c.browell@nhs.net

Dr Hareesh Krishnamurthy

Locum Consultant anaesthetist

DECT 29825

h.krishnamurthy@nhs.net

Dr Mike James

Consultant anaesthetist

DECT 23904

michael.james3@nhs.net